Senator Tim Scott, Colleagues Introduce Resolution on 75th Anniversary of Founding of the State of Israel

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) joined his Senate colleagues in introducing a bipartisan resolution in celebration of the 75th anniversary of the founding of the State of Israel, which is May 14th. The resolution reaffirms the United States’ steadfast commitment to Israel’s security, underscores our dedication to combatting antisemitism and efforts to delegitimize Israel, and celebrates the indelible ties between our nations and our people, among other provisions.

“Since her founding, Israel has been a faithful and vital ally in the Middle East. On her 75th anniversary, we recognize Israel as a strategic partner – affirming her sovereignty and shared democratic values,” said Senator Scott. “With the loss of a generation, the Jewish people have endured unimaginable suffering and they deserve a place to call home. I will always be committed to Israel’s right to security and self-determination.”

“The United States and Israel share an unshakable relationship firmly rooted in our shared values and national interests,” said Ranking Member Risch. “On Israel’s 75th anniversary, we applaud Israel as a symbol of strength and democracy in an often turbulent region, and recognize the significant role Israel has played to break down barriers through partnerships like the landmark Abraham Accords. Israel has no greater friend than the United States of America, and I look forward to our continued work to enhance peace, confront the forces of extremism and intolerance, and build a more peaceful Middle East.”

“I am deeply proud to be joined by a great number of my colleagues on both sides of the aisle in celebration of the historic 75th anniversary of the founding of the State of Israel,” said Chairman Menendez. “Today, we extend our warm congratulations to the Israeli people and honor their immense contributions to global society. We also demonstrate our unwavering support for Israel’s right to exist as a Jewish and democratic state in peace, prosperity, and security alongside its neighbors, and redouble our efforts to combat hate and antisemitism everywhere as instances of such heinous acts continue to rise. Since its founding, Israel and the United States have shared a special relationship grounded in shared democratic values, strategic interests, and genuine friendship and mutual respect. I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues in the Senate and around the world to advance our nations’ bond for generations to come.”

“75 years ago, the US immediately recognized Israel at its establishment, marking the beginning of a deep relationship based on our shared values including democracy and the rule of law that has transcended time and politics,” said Leader Schumer. “I look forward to further strengthening the US-Israel relationship in the years to come and continuing the progress of normalization of relations between Israel and her neighbors.”

“The United States was the first country to formally recognize the state of Israel at its founding in 1948,” said Leader McConnell. “It has been America’s honor to watch our friend and partner blossom into a vibrant democracy, a dynamic economy, and an inspiring beacon of welcome for the Jewish people. Our strong security partnership in the face of common threats continues to lead our two countries toward shared security, and the entire Middle East toward greater stability. I am proud to join friends of Israel everywhere in celebrating this joyous anniversary.”

Senator Scott was joined by Senators Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), ranking member and chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), along with Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Marco Rubio (D-Fla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), and Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.).

Read the full resolution here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *